Print-friendly version of this page
Paddington Green is a surviving fragment of the original rural fabric of the area.
Paddington Green is the location for the ancient sites of Paddington and Lillestone villages. The detail of Rocque’s 1714 map shows Paddington as an isolated village at the junction of Edgware Road
and Harrow Road
By the end of the 18th century Paddington Green, with nearby Lisson Grove
, was a fashionable area on the edge of the country but linked by broad streets to Regents Park and the West End. The world’s first omnibus service ran from here to the Bank in 1829. St Mary’s Church built in 1788-91 and designed by John Plaw on the site of two earlier demolished churches and the elegant 1790’s houses at 17-18 Paddington Green are the survivors of that period.
The long disused churchyard is now enclosed by railings and provides walks with public access. A large number of notable people are buried here including Sarah Siddons
, the actress portrayed by Reynolds and Gainsborough.
Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike Licence
Ashmill Street, NW8 Ashmill Street was formerly owned by the Portman estate and named for Ash Mill in Devon where the family owned land. Harrow Road, W2 Harrow Road is one of the main arterial roads of London, leading northwest out of the capital. Praed Street, W2 Praed Street was named after William Praed, chairman of the company which built the canal basin which lies just to its north. Westway, W2 At its opening, Westway was the largest continuous concrete structure in Britain.
Little Venice is a picturesque area situated around the Regent's Canal in the Paddington area.
Known for its canals and moored boats, it is the home of many famous people. Much of the property in the area terraced mansions and town houses. Little Venice has two waterways: the Grand Union Canal and the Regent's Canal, which meet in a large, picturesque pool, Browning's Pool, which forms the focus of the area.